Events & Meetings

‘What’s Going On’

West Side of Vancouver Island


WSV-oval-green-sm

Basic listings free on this page ~ preference to advertisers (who also get logos & full display ad on this page). Ad Rates  |  Inquiries: 250-217-5821


 

CURRENT & UPCOMING PRINT/PDF ISSUES of WEST SHORE VOICE NEWS ~ A weekend reader

  • Are you a subscriber yet?  Premium PDF subscribers get the early edition by email (with no watermarks).
  • Friday, September 22 WEST SHORE VOICE NEWSLangford on the Move Issue
  • Marketing exposure through West Shore Voice News reaches a distinct, attentive audience. Call for rates and be sure to ask for discounts! Ad deadline 5 pm Wednesdays for the print/PDF edition but online ads can be booked anytime. Call 250-217-5821 to inquire or email to advertising@westshorevoicenews.com

 

       PharmsaveSOOKE-adproof#1-forApr0117

EXTENDED or Wide-Impact EVENTS

EVENT Dates Links / Details
   to September 30, 2017 Bicycle Repairs and Sales /  Fall Tune-up Special | www.greenmanbikes.com
 Thanksgiving Long Weekend Saturday Oct 7, Sunday Oct 8, Monday Oct 9
ADVERTISING DEADLINES for West Shore Voice News (print/PDF editions)

Online ads can be placed at any time.WSV-oval-green-sm

Ask about fall season discounts!  

 

All print ad deadlines 5pm on the Wednesday before publication, unless stated otherwise.

Visit the ADVERTISING page on this website for details, or inquire to advertising@westshorevoicenews.com  or call 250-217-5821.


BULLETINS & REPEAT EVENTS  

  • Farmers Markets continue into the fall season.  SOOKE COUNTRY MARKET – Saturdays 10am-2pm Otter Pt Rd at Eustace, Sooke town centre, May-Oct   | FARMERS MARKET Colwood – Wednesdays 5-8 pm, 1767 Old Island Hwy, Colwood, to  June-Sept | GOLDSTREAM Farmers Market, Veterans Memorial Park, Saturdays 2 to 4 pm

 

EVENTS & DEADLINES 

 

Monday September 25 to Friday September 29 – Union of BC Municipalities 2017 Convention. In Vancouver. www.ubcm.ca

 

Tuesday, September 26. SD62 Public Board meeting. 8 pm. www.sd62.bc.ca

 

Saturday September 30. 13th Annual Rotary Chili Cook Off & West Shore Showcase. Eagle Ridge Centre, 1089 Langford Pkwy, 10am to 5pm.

 

Sunday October 1. Sooke Newcomers. 11:30am-1:30pm. At Hara Sushi, 105-6661 Sooke Rd. www.sookeregionchamber.com

 

Monday October 2. Canadian Blood Services donor clinic at Church of the Advent, 510 Mount View Ave, Colwood. 12 to 7 pm. www.blood.ca

 

Monday October 2. City of Langford Regular Council Meeting.  5:30pm. www.langford.ca

 

Wednesday October 4. West Shore Parkway opens to Trans Canada Highway (Hwy 1).  www.langford.ca

 

Sunday, October 8. GoodLife Fitness Victoria Marathon. Registration open to noon on Oct 4. www.runvictoriamarathon.com

 

Monday, October 9.  Thanksgiving (long weekend Oct 7 to 9).

 

Tuesday, October 10. District of Sooke Regular Council Meeting.  7 pm.  www.sooke.ca

 

Tuesday, October 10. SD62 ECOW meeting. 7 pm. Location tba.

 

Wednesday, October 11. BC Ferries – new regulation starts Oct 11, that you can’t stay in your vehicle if parked on the lower decks. www.bcferries.com

 

Saturday, October 14. Ecohome Tour in Sooke. www.transitionsooke.org

 

Sunday October 15. Animal Rescues March for Shelter by Victoria Pet Food Bank & Feral Cat Rehabilitation Society. 1 to 3 pm at the BC Legislative grounds, Victoria.  www.safars.org

 

Wednesday, October 18.  Awareness Film Night’s 23rd Season Premiere will present the film “The True Cost” plus a Fair Clothing Faire featuring upcycled and vintage/used clothing vendors in the theatre and foyer at Sooke’s Edward Milne Community School, 65218 Sooke Rd. Doors open at 6:45 pm for browsing at the Faire; film starts at 7:30. Admission by donation. Bring some cash as not all vendors can process credit or debit cards.

 

Friday, October 20. SD62 non-instructional day. www.sd62.bc.ca

 

Saturday October 21.  Sooke Repair Cafe. www.transitionsooke.org

 

Monday October 23 – Canadian Blood Services donor clinic at Sooke Legion, 6726 Eustace Rd, Sooke. 11:30 am to 6:30 pm. www.blood.ca

 

Thursday, October 26. Best of the West Shore – Gala. At Bear Mountain Resort by the West Shore Chamber of Commerce.

 

Saturday November 11. Remembrance Day.

 

Friday, November 24. SD62 non-instructional day. www.sd62.bc.ca

 

Monday November 27 Canadian Blood Services donor clinic at Church of the Advent, 510 Mount View Ave, Colwood. 12 to 7 pm. www.blood.ca

 

Monday, December 25. Christmas Day.

2018

 

January 22. BC Ferries – new regulation starts January 22… all smoking is banned (cigarettes, e-cigarettes, etc).  www.bcferries.com

 

April 19-21, 2018.  Liberal National Convention, in Halifax.  #LIB2018